DENR Caraga, through its Conservation and Development Division - Protected Area, Biodiversity, and Ecotourism Section, conducted a Capability Building for Protected Area Management Office (PAMO) Staff on May 8-12, 2023, at the GO Hotel’s Conference Room, Robinsons Galleria in Butuan City.

The five-day activity serves as part of the region's initiatives to provide and enhance the knowledge of the PAMO staff on the various Protected Area (PA) policies and guidelines, as well as to capacitate and orient them with the right information to become well-versed in addressing the issues and concerns of their respected PAs.

A total of 36 personnel, who serve as the frontline in the protection, conservation, and preservation of these PAs, and five PENR Office Technical Division Chiefs attended the learning event.

The Caraga Region has 12 PAs, three of which are legislated under the E-NIPAS namely: Siargao Islands Protected Landscapes  and Seascapes (SIPLAS), Agusan Marsh  Wildlife Sanctuary

(AMWS), and Tinuy-an Falls Protected Landscape (TFPL); one is a proclaimed PA— the Carac-an Watershed Forest Reserve (CWFR); and eight are initial components, namely: Andanan Watershed Forest Reserve (AWFR), Cabadbaran River Watershed Forest Reserve (CRWFR), Surigao Watershed Resource Reserve (SWFR), Malinao Inlet Protected Landscape and Seascape (MIPLAS), Gaas Inlet Protected Landscape and Seascape (GIPLAS), Western Dinagat Protected Landscapes and Seascapes (WesDIPLAS), Barcelona-Bongan-Lawigan-Valencia Protected Landscape and Seascape (BARBOLAVA), and Surigao del Norte Protected Landscapes and Seascapes (SDNPLS).

These PAs have significant contributions towards the agency’s efforts to conserve species and key habitats, preserve ecosystem balance, and increase climate change resilience.